Cooking Up A Storm

For a lack of comics and doodles, I’ve decided to share with whoever’s out there with my latest discovery.

First, I must impress on how I’ve always had trouble cooking for myself when I have no one with whom to share my food (my roommate also makes her own, a consequence of two crazy mismatched schedules). I’ve finally realised that the recipes I’ve know for a while are made for family sized meals. Try to cook one of those for yourself, and you’ve got, say, lasagna, but for an entire week. You’re stuck eating leftovers (worst, the same leftover) for the rest of the week. Though it makes things easier, it sure kills the interest of eating – and it’s always good to have variety in one’s diet.

So I’ve been experimenting with new recipes for the past month.

Here’s the discovery of the week!

Black Bean Burgers

  • 1 1/2 cup cooked brown rice, mashed [I didn’t – turned out or – but if you can mash, by all means, mash!]
  • 1 cup cooked black beans, mashed [I just go with canned, then mash – shorter, if you don’t want to wait 2h to cook dried black beans!]
  • 1/2 cup carrot, finely grated
  • 1/2 cup onion, finely grated
  • [MC edit: 1/2 cup corn]
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 Tbsp shoyu [I just went with soy sauce – close enough]
  • 1Tbsp parsley [if you have some fresh, even better!]
  • [MC edit: add 1 Tbsp fresh cilantro if you can!]
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 2 Tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/2 whole wheat flour
  • [MC edit: bread crumbs]

Mix cooked rice in a bowl with hand blender until well mashed [MC edit: I totally forgot this part].

Stir in mashed cooked beans, onions and carrots [and corn] with wooden spoon, then stir in tahini, shoyu, and spices. [MC edit: honestly, I just dumped everything together in one shot and then mixed with a hand mixer – though I did mash the black beans first.]

Add enough flour to keep the mixture together (adjust the amount of flour if necessary). Shape into round patties. [MC edit: put bread crumbs in a bowl and cover patties with bread crumbs – it helps with not having the patties gluing to your hands as you try to dump them in the skillet.]

Heat a skillet. Add oil and patties – cook patties 5-7 minutes on both sides.

Garnish at your heart’s content. I put tomatoes and goat cheese, which happened to be hagning around our fridge. Whatever suits your mood.

Yum.

Unfortunately, no pictures are available, because I ate my burgers already.

:)

Leave a Reply

