Here is where I show you recordings of a sample of my works. The general consensus is that I do pretty. Maybe too much. Can lean to cheesy if I’m not careful. But I’ll let you be the judge.

Øst for vinden (2012) – for treble chorus/women’s choir, solo violin, solo cello, and optional storyteller. This work was awarded first prize in the SOCAN Foundation Young Composers Awards in the Godfrey Ridout vocal category, for which I was equally surprised and thankful. Thanks to Iwan Edwards for giving me the opportunity to compose so freely for Concerto Della Donna! Thanks also to our wonderful local storyteller extraordinaire JD Hickey for leaping into the project with us and adding so much context to the performance!

Here are some excerpts:

  1. Prologen
  2. Østavind
  3. Vestavind
  4. Sønnavind
  5. Nordavind

The Sphères set – for string orchestra and solo string quartet – commissioned by Arkéa.


Duo Visio (2011): for solo viola de gamba – commissioned by Elin Söderström from  Fiolûtröniq (look at 2m07s – this video has clips of every commissioned piece for this concert celebrating International Women’s Day). This concert will be brought on tour within the next year or two.


Mi Feng (2010)

Sections of a score for a short animation, Mi Feng (not featured on the web), for string quartet, xiao (Chinese bamboo flute), and sampler. The story is of a T’ai Chi master trying to teach a class while a bee distracts him. A battle ensues, and out of it comes a new form of T’ai Chi.

Méditations de la Vierge Marie (2010)

Christmas Triptych: “Le secret de la Vierge Marie” for women’s choir and string quartet.
Performed by Concerto Della Donna, under the direction of Iwan Edwards. Recorded in December 2010.)

Cinq tombeaux japonais (2009)

Five movements based on death poems written by Zen followers – death poems were a tradition in Japan and the Zen community. To write a perfect haïku or poem that reflects one’s last impressions of life, death, or any related subject was a standard thing to do on one’s deathbed. I have taken some of those, compiled them into five pieces, and wrote them for a soprano and viola de gamba. Performed by Ghislaine Deschambault and Elin Soderstrom on February 13th 2009, at salle Serge-Garant, Université de Montréal.

  • Mvt. 1: Tombeau de Chiné (a young woman who died in her early years – compilation of her poem and her brother’s)
  • Mvt. 4: Tombeau de Shisui (a monk who only wrote a circle: , possibly representing the cycle of reincarnation, or a full cycle – very much up to interpretation)
  • Mvt. 5: Tombeau de Zoso Royo (another enlightened monk who was quite positive and content with moving on)

And last but not least (everything else sounds too much like a school exercise between 2003 and 2008 – which they were …!):

  • Le train d’hiver (2003) – a piece for women’s voices, originally published by Boosey & Hawkes (you can get a copy here) in 2006 as a SSA piece, but I wrote it specifically as a SSAA version for this recording with Concerto Della Donna
%d bloggers like this: